Grant Submission Process

The ICCT Clearinghouse and the Technical Assistance Process

New Section 5311 Applicants
Identify HSTP Region
Contact HSTP Coordinator

ICCT Clearinghouse Transportation Coordination Primer
Phase 1: Transit Partnership Group
Phase 2: Needs and Resources
Phase 3: Action Plan

The Transit Partnership Group Toolbox

ICCT Clearinghouse News

The Illinois ICCT Clearinghouse Technical Assistance Process

The ICCT Clearinghouse:

The ICCT Clearinghouse has been critical in helping Illinois to expand and coordinate public transit services through the Technical Assistance process. The Clearinghouse provides technical assistance and support only; it does not fund projects of any kind and has no funding sources.

The “Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users” (SAFETEA-LU) transportation bill passed in 2006 allocated an increase in funding of 50% for rural transportation, allowing IDOT's Department of Public and Intermodal Transportation (DPIT) to expand Section 5311 funding for both operating and capital expenses. IDOT contracted with RLS Associates to develop an equitable methodology for expanding Section 5311 funding to un-served areas in Illinois.

As part of this process and in order to meet the new Federal coordination requirements, IDOT requires counties seeking funds for new or annexed services under Section 5311 to complete Steps One through Step Three of the ICCT's Transportation Coordination Primer.

The ICCT Clearinghouse Transportation Coordination Primer provides an overview of the technical assistance process and step-by-step guidelines for establishing a rural public transit system in Illinois and obtaining Federal and State funding to support the services. Although the primer process is necessary for new applicants to Section 5311, the primary purpose is not to access funds, but rather to ensure that public transportation systems are designed to be efficient, fair and to meet the needs of the public they serve. At the time of the ICCT Clearinghouse inception there were around 30 grantees providing service covering around 60 counties in Illinois, and about 35 counties without countywide public transportation services. As of September 2010, 12 counties have completed the Primer Process, 13 counties are in the final Phase of the Primer Process, and 8 counties are working through Phases 1 and 2. .

Click here to view a map of the status of technical assistance requests and public transit services in downstate Illinois as of June, 2012.

Source:The ICCT Transportation Coordination Primer

RTAC–The Rural Transit Assistance Center:

In Illinois, The Rural Transit Assistance Center (RTAC), a unit of the Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs at Western Illinois University implements the Rural Transit Assistance Program, operating under a grant from the Illinois Department of Transportation. RTAC also serves as the clearinghouse for the Illinois Coordinating Committee on Transpiration and the technical assistance process that is requisite for new 5311 grant recipients.

Source: Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs/RTAC

ICCT – Interagency Coordinating Committee on Transportation:

Established in 2003 by the State of Illinois through Public Act 93-0185, the ICCT works to address ways to broaden coverage and reduce duplication of transportation services to help disadvantaged citizens of Illinois get to work, work-related services, and other life-sustaining activities for health and well being. Chaired by the Office of the Governor, the ICCT works directly with communities to: (1) Improve coordination of community-based transportation programs within Federal guidelines and to enhance services for the transportation disadvantaged. (2) Deliver a technical assistance program that address critical gaps in transportation services.(3)Facilitate the grant application process and assist communities in identifying funding sources (3)Develop strategies to reduce duplication of services and to achieve complete coverage throughout the state (4) Serve as a centralized source of information about funding sources and resources to serve the transportation disadvantaged.

Members of the ICCT are appointed through legislation and include representatives from the Illinois Department of Transportation, the Rural Transit Assistance Center, Illinois Department on Aging, the Illinois Department of Human Services and the Illinois Public Transportation Association, among others.

Source: State of Illinois: Appointments